Posted on : Sunday August 15, 2010

CentrePointe Counseling, Incorporated has been awarded Full Accreditation for January 2010 to July 2013, The Samaritan Institute, located in Denver, Col., announced today.

“Accreditation is a major accomplishment and demonstrates a Center’s commitment to excellence,” according to the Reverend Dr. Paul Bretz, Vice President of the Institute, which is the headquarters for an international network of Samaritan Centers.

“The accreditation process indicates that Centers offer professional services within a framework of quality organizational, administrative, and financial practices,” Bretz said. CentrePointe Counseling was established in the early 70’s by an independent board representing a cross-section of the community and is supported by 28 congregations.

Other key community supporters of the Center include Arundel Baptist Association, Millersville; Baltimore Baptist Association, Baltimore; Blue Ridge Baptist Association, Boonsboro; Chestnut Ridge Baptist Church, Lutherville; Crossroads Church, Odenton; First Baptist Church, Crofton; Mars Hill Baptist Church, Essex; Montgomery Baptist Association, Gaithersburg; Parkville Baptist Church, Baltimore; Patterson Park Baptist Church, Baltimore; Potomac Baptist Association, Hughesville; and Prince George’s Baptist Association, Lanham.

The Center provides a wide range of outpatient counseling services, including counseling for individuals, couples, and families; educational programs; and consultation for professionals and organizations.

The Samaritan Ministry advocates the concept of interfaith, team-oriented, and cost-efficient counseling, emphasizing the inter-relatedness of mind, body, spirit, and community.

The Executive Director is Kim Cook, MSW, MA, LCSW-C.

The Center is staffed by Marlene Backert, MA, LCPC; Terry Bates, MS, LCPC; Theresa Baxter, LCSW-C, MSW; Richard Beacham, MS, MDiv, LCPC; Lynnda Bird, MS, LCPC; Olga Booth, PhD, LCPC;  Ron Brown, BD, ThM, DMin; Carolyn Buresh, MS; David Burt, MA, MRE; Elizabeth Devilbiss, MA, LCPC;  Elinor Dichshinski, MS, LCPC; Daniel Holler,  MS, LCSW-C; Toni Kelley, MS, LCPC; Dawn Lewis, MS, LGPC; Patsy Mengiste, MA, MBA, LGPC; Julie Pratt, MS, LCPC; Melvin Pride, MS, LCPC; Matthew Reader, MSW, LGSW; Thomas Rodgerson, PhD, LCPC; Daniel Stinchcomb, MRE, MS, LCPC; and Frankie Wright, MA, LCPC.

The Board of Directors includes Mrs. Doris Burch, Dr. Rev. James Dixon, Jr., Mrs. Carole Frank, Ms. Barbara High, Rev. Kevin Holder, Ms. Joan LeFaivre, Mr. Robert Michael, J.D., Dr. Emily Ulmer Michelsen, Rev. Larry Sharrow, Mr. Don Sweeney, CPA, Ms. Barbara Taylor, and Dr. Rev. Nathaniel Thomas, LCSW-C.