Posted on : Thursday April 12, 2018

SBC President Steve Gaines Screen capture

DALLAS (BP) — Appointments to the Southern Baptist Convention’s Committee on Committees have been announced by SBC President Steve Gaines, pastor of the Memphis-area Bellevue Baptist Church in Cordova, Tenn.

The Committee on Committees has 68 members, two from each of the 34 states and regions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

Joshua Phillips of Pleasant View Baptist Church, Port Deposit, Md. and Kent Phoebus of LifeHouse Church, Middletown, Del., will represent Maryland/Delaware/District of Columbia.

The Committee on Committees will assemble in Dallas just prior to the SBC’s June 12-13 sessions to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations who, in turn, will nominate trustees for the boards of SBC entities in 2019.

Gaines named Emir Caner, president of Truett McConnell University in Cleveland, Ga., as chairman.

Gaines announced the appointments on April 6 in accordance with SBC Bylaw 19, which calls for providing notice to Southern Baptists of the appointees at least 45 days in advance of each year’s annual meeting.

Previously, Gaines named members of the Committee on Resolutions for the June 12-13 SBC annual meeting in Dallas, which includes Byron Day, pastor of Emmanuel Baptist Church, Laurel, Md. See story here.

Compiled by Art Toalston, senior editor of Baptist Press.